blog, Developmental Psychology, Education, Family Story, Traumatic Brain Injury

SPEAK OUT FOR ADVOCACY, COUNSELING, DISABILITY, AND RELIGIOUS RIGHTS. A STORY, JOSHUA HALTOM

Please bear in mind that everything told here is our family’s narrative, an experience that, at first, I did not want to be a part of since it generates anxiety, discomfort, and terror for experiencing silent tyranny that existed long before I was born, with few wishes to go through. This encounter, on the other hand, taught me about my own strength the power of my writing, and my voice. I am not courageous, but I am a woman who has been pressed but not crushed, a wife, a mother, and a truth-teller.

I was able to free myself from the grip of evil and horror by expressing my deep worry and dread through a declaration of truth and claims made in these advocacy and announcements.

This is the same letter I sent to the courthouse, which I believe needs to be aware of our truth and assertions, as well as to a number of other groups, people, governments, and charitable organizations.

My name is Lady Calderon Haltom, and I am a Liberty University developmental psychology student.  I’m here to advocate for and support my husband, Joshua A. Haltom, in his current situation.

Because I lack the necessary legal license and must remain silent in court, as the judge stated at our most recent court appearance, I am using my writing and voice to raise awareness by exercising my self-advocacy skills in order to protect our family by asserting our constitutionally protected rights to be heard and respected, and to say no to structural silent injustice.    

I assert three things, before dealing with the improper display, the court should analyze his/her bias, personal views, assumptions, and attitudes toward persons with disabilities and those ready to claim the right to express religious freedom now and in the future.  

Second, keep a close check on why and how Joshua’s permanent postal address record was altered without his approval at city hall. 

Third, IN ALL SITUATIONS, we must acknowledge Mercy.

 All I want for these upcoming days is for our family to be serene, cheerful, and quiet.   Please review the enclosed PDF.

“When an individual appears to be without a disability, others may not understand (or may not believe) that they have a disability and may blame them for the difficulties that they display. Individuals with “invisible” disabilities (e.g., many mental disorders or physical conditions such as traumatic brain injury) may be responded to with annoyance and resentment from friends, family
members, and employers. With a visible disability, prejudice, and discrimination can occur, but accommodations are more likely to be made.”
(Sue, et. al. 2022, p. 382).

I thank God that on October 18, the same judge dismissed the traffic penalty for the traffic control device as well as the improper display from both charges.

The seemingly never-ending chain reactions of such unpleasant events in our personal experience that have correlations to traumatic brain injury, as well as all of the emotions associated with them, intensifies my desire to be equipped in the pursuit of being freed from oppression for the purpose God has for all of these. My expressed concerns about oppression, which I have communicated and described in my writings as an unpleasant situation that has been presented, and my internal drive to describe, understand, and reconcile it within myself, as well as communicate with others through advocacy and standing on our rights, are the driving forces behind my decision to write a letter, as well as share this in my blog, and to praise God for the understanding and strength He has provided me with.

As scripture says, Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him (James 1:12, New International Bible, 2011).

Leave a comment